No Fear

IMG_0259Read 2 Kings 6

Focus on verse 16

Elisha and his servant find themselves surrounded by the army of the Syrians and Elisha says to his servant, “Do not be afraid, for those who are with us are more than those who are with them.” Then the Lord opens the spiritual eyes of the servant so that he can see the host of the Lord’s army surrounding the Syrian army.

I have long wondered how I would respond if I could see even for a moment into the spirit world around me. Would I be more frightened by the demonic activity that most surely is there, or would I be reassured by the greater presence of the Lord’s angels who are there to watch over me. I am confident that if the Lord were to choose to reveal this to me, that it would be the latter…at least once I recover from the initial shock of what I am seeing.

Having this confidence, what prevents me from acting in accordance with this knowledge? Knowing that the Lord is watching over me, and that nothing can befall me that does not first come through His fingers, why do I still hesitate to obey?

Lord, give me the confidence and courage to act according to Your prompting even when it seems frightening to do so. Please also give me wisdom and clarity to recognize exactly what it is that You ask me to do, so that I do not presumptuously endanger myself or anyone else.

About Dented-Knight

A knight with polished, shining, perfect armor is typically one with no battle experience. It is the knight in dented armor that knows what it costs to win.
Image | This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

