Looking Ahead…

Read 2 Kings 8

Focus on verse 12

I have often wondered what it might be like to see the future as some of God’s prophets of old clearly did, but as we see in this account this also appears to have a down side. Elisha is shown by the Lord how Hazael would ruthlessly plunder Israel, killing men, women and children in the future; before Hazael even knows “Root River Valley Collection”Hwy 16 “Morning in the Valley - #1”he will be king. It must be quite something to see the future knowing that there is little that can be done to change the outcome, especially when the future is looking to be bleak for people that you care about.

All Elisha could do was weep. He could not change the future of his nation. He could not stop the evil that was to befall Samaria. Perhaps seeing the future is not as glorious as I may have imagined it to be. Perhaps God demonstrates His grace to us be allowing us only to see as much as we are able to accept, and to face the rest as it comes our way, trusting Him to be there with us in the midst of the battle.

Lord, I suppose I should thank you that You do not show me everything that I at time wish I could see about my future, as it would probably scare me to death if I saw it all at once. Help me to learn to trust You moment by moment for as much as I need to get through the next moment.

About Dented-Knight

A knight with polished, shining, perfect armor is typically one with no battle experience. It is the knight in dented armor that knows what it costs to win.
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

