Benefits of citizenship

Read 2 Chronicles 2
Focus on verse 17

I suppose I should be grateful that our current president has not to this point followed the example of Solomon to get things done in America. If he were to do so I suspect I would be assigned to heavy labor as a resident alien. On the other hand perhaps this system is already in place in a sense, only the ones assigned to the heavy labor jobs are not the resident aliens, but the illegal aliens. Either way the point seems to be that citizenship has some benefits. I2n America some of those benefits would include the right to vote, the right to a fair trial, freedom of speech, and freedom of religion (well, in theory at least).

There is another type of citizenship in which much more is at stake. When I made the choice to believe that the Bible is true in what it says about who Jesus Christ is and that I can have a relationship with Him, and that when I chose to turn control of my life over to Him, I became a citizen of God’s heavenly kingdom. In that sense I suppose I could consider myself a temporary resident alien of the present world. What that means is that until the day the God determines that my days on earth are complete, or until the day Jesus returns to rule as He promised, until my time here is done I may be required to figuratively bear some burdens and quarry some stone as a resident alien.
As a citizen of God’s kingdom it not only makes the time that remains for me here more meaningful and fulfilling, it also guarantees my eternal future in His kingdom. For those who choose not to enter into God’s kingdom there is an alternative which the Bible calls outer darkness. Jesus describes this place as a place where there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth, a place of fire and brimstone and eternal torment.
There are of course those who may claim this is not true, that the Bible is just a book invented by humans and that there is no afterlife. We all have the freedom to choose to believe that which we trust to be true. Unfortunately, what we choose to believe does not determine what is true. The Bible is either true or it is not. If the Bible turns out not to be true and there is no afterlife those who believe they will live forever won’t be disappointed because they’ll be dead. On the other hand, if the Bible turns out to be true and our eternal destiny is determined by what we choose to believe about Jesus Christ in this life…that will unfortunately be eternally devastating to those who were deceived into rejecting it.
God will not force anyone to believe His word, but He does invite everyone to believe the truth…the choice is yours.

About Dented-Knight

A knight with polished, shining, perfect armor is typically one with no battle experience. It is the knight in dented armor that knows what it costs to win.
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

