Slow down and live…

Read Job 7

Focus on verses 7

I had an appointment with an ophthalmologist today. She said my eyes look good for my age. I replied that if my eyes looked good I wouldn’t be there. Apparently my glasses are gradually losing their effectiveness in the same way that my clothes shrink if I leave them hanging in the closet too long. So when I read verse seven in today’s chapter the part about “my eye will never again see good” just jumped right out of context at me.

In the context Job is expressing his distress in regard to all that hardship and trouble he has just experienced, noting that life seems short. I am beginning to identify with that feeling as well. The older I get the faster life seems to go by. I remember as a child counting the days before Christmas seemed to take so eternally long! Now it seems as though Christmas arrives two days after thanksgiving.

When the span of our life is compared to eternity, it really is not that long. There is no time to waste. The way to make the most of our life is to live each day fully. One mindset that robs us of living life fully is the notion that we should fill our lives up with more activity and more stuff in order to make the most of our lives. Nothing could be further from the truth. As I consider the times in my brief past that have the most value in my memory, it is not the busy times, but the reflective peaceful times when I have had time to just sit either in solitude, or with a few members of the family and/or friends having no particular agenda.

There is something to the old adage “don’t forget to stop and smell the flowers”. Too many of us rush through life in a frantic race to find happiness and fulfillment only to realize too late that we rushed right past it and we can’t go back.

Life is short…slow down and live.

About Dented-Knight

A knight with polished, shining, perfect armor is typically one with no battle experience. It is the knight in dented armor that knows what it costs to win.
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

