The Wonder of Thunder

Read Job 37

Focus on verses 5

I have always been amazed by the power of a prairie thunderstorm. I used to be fascinated and only slightly terrified, as I would watch them approach across the open fields to the west of the farm where I grew up. It was most impressive if it occurred in the early evening. It would get unusually dark as the thunderhead hid the sun from view. The eerie darkness made the flashes of the lighting more intimidating and impressive. When the storm was in the distance the thunder would be a faint and periodic rumble, but when it got closer the thunderclaps would audibly rattle the teacups in the china cabinet. The best storms were the ones where I could watch the curtain of rain approach across the open field. I knew it was time to head for cover when the rain began to envelop the willow hedge at the western border of the yard. Then as the thundercloud past overhead the rain would stop and the sun would break through as though it was chasing the storm cloud away, and on some occasions, a full bright rainbow would appear in the eastern sky against the blackness of the receding storm. The air would smell gloriously fresh and clean and the water droplets on the trees and grass would glisten sparkle in the sunshine.

In verse five of today’s reading Elihu proclaims the majesty of God using thunder as a metaphor. “God thunders wondrously with his voice; he does great things that we cannot comprehend.” Even with all the things modern science has helped us understand about lighting and thunder, the amazing power of a storm still strikes me with awe. There are still things we do not understand. For instance how is it that in the midst of a tornado that tears a house to pieces, it can leave a portable cabinet full of delicate china standing intact and untouched in a room that has had an entire wall torn off.

God has not changed. While there are many things about God that I now understand that I did not understand when I was younger, He still does great things that I cannot comprehend and I would be disappointed if He did not! When God stops doing things that we don’t understand, He stops being God. It is exactly this incomprehensible majesty that qualifies Him for the position.

I sincerely hope that I never lose the sense of awe (and even the touch of fear) that I experience when I witness the power and wonder of His thunder.

About Dented-Knight

A knight with polished, shining, perfect armor is typically one with no battle experience. It is the knight in dented armor that knows what it costs to win.
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

