Healthy Anger

Read Psalm 4

Focus on verses 4-5

In the animated feature movie “The emperor’s new groove” there is scene where Pacah’s wife gets very angry about the way the emperor treated her husband. Her way of expressing her anger is not only endearing, but also productive. As the anger wells up in her it is displayed on her face as well as in her words and actions. Her statement, if I recall correctly is “Ooooo…. I gotta go wash something!” after which she stomps over to the kitchen sink and fumes as she washes the dishes. Her character seems to have developed a healthy way to process anger that channels the angry energy into productive activity.

Contrary to this would be the anger expressed by the people who recently destroyed a significant portion of Ferguson MS and Baltimore ML. In this case they were expressing anger in regard to what they believed to be racially motivated police brutality. This kind of expression of anger is counterproductive and simply multiplies the anger of the people who happen to be in the path of the rioting mobs.

This is not controlled anger – this is anger completely out of control. There will be people who will look back at what they have done and said in these situations who will carry regrets and remorse, possibly to their graves for the crimes they committed while under the influence of uncontrolled anger. Many of these are people who in any other circumstance would not act this way.

Anger is an emotion. It is neither good nor evil as such. What gives anger a bad reputation is when it is expressed in a destructive fashion. I cannot control whether or not to feel angry. I can however, choose how I will express the feeling of anger that sometimes wells up within me. When I fail to control my anger I say and do things that I later regret. When I, by God’s grace, am able to control my anger, it tends to motivate me toward more productive action. Either way it is a choice I make and that I will have to account for.

About Dented-Knight

Peter Enns (aka - The Dented Knight) is a native of rural southern Manitoba, Canada. He is an ordained minister, the proprietor of LNE Web Services, father of four, grandfather of two, and life long husband of one. 
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

