Fear Factor

Read Psalm 27

Focus on verse 3

Fear Factor

Fear is a powerful motivator. On the purely physical side of things, fear often triggers the release of adrenaline into the bloodstream, which heightens the senses and increases one’s physical strength. Fear can also result in fainting or causing one to freeze up when immediate action would be more appropriate. Overcoming fear in the physical sense is to some extent a “mind over matter” exercise. People who respond well in emergency situations are often people who have honed this skill.

There is another aspect to fear that operates in the spiritual realm. Fear is used by the enemy of our souls to attempt to manipulate us into doing his bidding rather than trusting the Lord. So how does one overcome the fear factor? There is only one reliable antidote to fear that I am aware of; it involves knowing the Lord and His word well enough to trust that He is both willing and able to help us overcome fear. While this is simple enough to understand in the cognitive sense, in practice it becomes difficult when we expect God to follow a particular course of action that we would prefer. I have found that there are some times when His action is predictable, but more often He has chosen to test my faith by surprising me with an unexpected course of action. This is where the fear factor kicks in. I tend to find it disconcerting when I feel like I am not “in control” of my situation. This results in having to make a choice; will I choose to trust that God has my best interests in mind even though I do not understand exactly how He is going to go about it? Or do I panic and allow fear to control my actions, which typically results in an attempt on my part to regain control. Sometimes temporary control is gained and the fear recedes…more often my action intensifies the severity of the situation resulting in my learning the lesson “the hard way”.

We have a tendency to believe that the opposite of fear is courage. I do not believe that is correct. Courage is simply the choice to more forward in spite of our fear. The opposite of fear is love. When we truly understand the love that God has for us, we typically find (as David did) that we have nothing to fear.

About Dented-Knight

Peter Enns (aka - The Dented Knight) is a native of rural southern Manitoba, Canada. He is an ordained minister, the proprietor of LNE Web Services, father of four, grandfather of two, and life long husband of one. 
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

