When Strength is not enough…

Read Psalm 31

Focus on verse 10

 

Every once in a while I have taken on a project which at the time looks doable, but once I get into it I seriously wonder what I was thinking. After each occasion I have sworn to never repeat the mistake…I am currently in the midst of what I believe must be at least the third or fourth repeat of this type of miscalculation, but it is too late to turn back. At this point perseverance is the key, along with a little help from any friend or family member I can convince to get involved.

It is at times like this that I am reminded that my strength is not enough. There are some things that I can do in my own strength, and then there are things (like my current project) that are too much for me to do alone. There are the odd moments in the midst of a project such as attempting to lay about two thousand square feet of tile in two weeks or less, when can relate to the words of David in today’s psalm. “For my life is spent in sorrow, and my years in sighing; my strength fails because of my iniquity, and my bones waste away.” When it seems like the toil will never end, when the struggle to meet deadlines and bill payments becomes overwhelming, these are the times when we need a little help. Not just from a friend of family member, although these are often very encouraging and helpful, but we need the inner strength that only the Lord can give that provides us with the stamina to continue to persevere.

I find it interesting that the psalmist states that our strength fails because of our “iniquity”. This goes way back to Adam and Eve in the garden. Prior to sin entering creation, I suspect Adam and Eve did not experience pain, or weariness. Their strength did not fail because the wasting disease of sin had not yet infected them. It is only since the events of Genesis three when Adam gives in to Satan’s deception that iniquity began it’s wasting work within the soul of humanity. So it is that our strength fails because of our iniquity. Thanks to the marvelous grace and mercy of God we have an avenue of restoration through the sacrifice of Jesus Christ, who died on the cross and rose from the dead to purchase a place in heaven for us, which He offers to us as a free gift. Through the indwelling of the Holy Spirit within us we can find our strength restored, renewed every morning by His faithfulness to us.

Yes our bones will still waste away. We must still all pass through the valley of the shadow of death, but we no longer have to live a life spent in sorrow and sighing. Through the strength we can borrow through Christ we can now live in the promise of joy and victory.

About Dented-Knight

Peter Enns (aka - The Dented Knight) is a native of rural southern Manitoba, Canada. He is an ordained minister, the proprietor of LNE Web Services, father of four, grandfather of two, and life long husband of one. 
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

