How Long?

Read Psalm 35

Focus on verse 17

 

If you have ever traveled with young children for any length of time, you have likely heard the question “are we there yet?” at least a few times. It seems one of our human qualities is to be a tad impatient at times. As the pace of our society speeds up, our impatience with having to wait for anything seems to increase.

I am old enough to remember the days before microwave ovens. At the time it seemed pretty normal to wait a few minutes for water to boil for coffee, or for dinner to reheat in the conventional oven. Yet now I have caught myself impatiently drumming my fingers on the counter waiting thirty seconds for a cup of water to heat up.

While our society keeps changing, God does not change to accommodate us. He still operates with perfect consistency according to His character. Apparently David periodically became a little impatient with waiting for God to act as well. Here in verse seventeen he asks, “How long, O Lord, will you look on? Rescue me from their destruction…”

In my experience it seems God always waits until the very last moment to act on my behalf…if the deadline for my crisis is on the fifteenth of the month, the unexpected solution typically arrives late on the fourteenth. Perhaps the principle is similar to finding a lost article. Have you ever noticed that you always find what you are looking for in the last place that you look? As I think about that I suppose it could have something to do with the fact that that once you find it – you stop looking?

What we sometimes forget when we ask “how long, O Lord?” is that His timing is always perfect according to His will. This does not necessarily mean it will be perfect according to “my will”. So perhaps the foundational problem is that my will is not in tune with His will in regard to the matter. I suspect that if we could walk in step with God more consistently, and know Him well enough to know His will for us we might find ourselves asking the “how long” question with less frequency. It really comes down to a matter of trust. Can I trust God with what is important to me, or do I insist on trying to manipulate Him into following my will?

About Dented-Knight

Peter Enns (aka - The Dented Knight) is a native of rural southern Manitoba, Canada. He is an ordained minister, the proprietor of LNE Web Services, father of four, grandfather of two, and life long husband of one. 
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How Long?

  1. mom says:

    I really like this one. Can’t say that it is really outstanding. Enjoy reading all. Thanks. Mom

    Like

Leave a Reply

