Steadfast…

Read Psalm 36

Focus on verse 5-6

 

Steadfast, immovable, secure, reliable, trustworthy, unfailing, solid; what does it mean to be steadfast? Is anyone really capable of being steadfast? As humans we all fail at some level. In this Psalm David references the “steadfast love” of the Lord, citing that it extends to the heavens. In other words; God’s steadfast love has no limitations…nor does His faithfulness. I suspect that God is really the only being capable of being consistently steadfast. If that is true, then He is the only one in whom it would make sense to trust. Why would I trust someone or something that I already know will fail me at some level somewhere down the road? Even more pointedly, why would I do this when there is someone who IS consistently steadfast in Whom I can trust?

Everything that we know about this world in which we live will eventually pass away. The physical world is awesome, but it is not permanent. The spiritual world we know less about, but it is just a real as the physical world and it is eternal. When everything we know in this world is gone, the spiritual world will still be there, and as far as I know, my spirit will be there. Interestingly, how and where my spirit will spend eternity apparently depends upon what or rather, who I place my trust in while I am still part of the physical world. It would seem to me that I have little to lose by placing my trust in God who appears to be the most steadfast one available at the moment. If I am wrong and the spirit world does not exist or passes away along with the physical world, I’ll just be dead. On the other hand, if I were to choose to place my trust in the notion that the physical world is all there is and discovered I was wrong about that…well, one might say there would literally be hell to pay.

I don’t know about you but since we won’t know for sure until it’s too late, I think I’ll hedge my bets and put my trust in the One I know to be the steadfast One.

About Dented-Knight

A knight with polished, shining, perfect armor is typically one with no battle experience. It is the knight in dented armor that knows what it costs to win.
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

