Deep Water

Read Psalm 38

Focus on vers

There is a common saying to describe when we are in a situation where our circumstances are beyond what we are able to handle on our own. When this occurs we sometimes say, “I was in over my head”, alluding to being in deep water without sufficient energy to keep ssour head above the water. When we are in such a situation we are in danger of drowning unless we receive some sort of help from a source beyond our selves.

Apparently David had some moments like this which he describes in Psalm 38:4 “For my iniquities have gone over my head; like a heavy burden, they are too heavy for me.” He is overcome with the burden of his own failings. He recognizes that that he cannot save himself from this situation. He needs the Lord to intervene, to save him from himself.

One of the quotes floating around the Internet that I ran across again this afternoon is helpful in identifying exactly this crisis in our lives. It was sent to me in a text and I do not know who the original source of it is but it does help to crystalize one’s thoughts in regard to overcoming personal problems.

“You can keep telling yourself that you can deal with your problems on your own. But know that if that were true, you would have done it already.

When I am in deep water and the waves are closing over my head, I don’t care much where the help comes from, or what it looks like, I just want to breath again! Don’t let your pride be the cause of your death by drowning in your iniquity.

About Dented-Knight

A knight with polished, shining, perfect armor is typically one with no battle experience. It is the knight in dented armor that knows what it costs to win.
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

