Why we sing…

Read Psalm 47

Focus on verses 6-7

I have heard it said that a singing child is a happy child…and I tend to agree. In fact I would broaden that statement to say a singing person is generally a happy person…or at least a well-adjusted person. Music has a way of not only expressing our feelings, but also of lifting them. I can think of more than a few times when I have felt overwhelmed, or discouraged where making or listening to music has helped to bring me out of a funk.

I have also found that when I am very happy, or when I feel good… I tend to catch myself singing as well. While this may not be true of everyone it seems to be a natural response for the majority of humans. It almost seems as though there is something in the way we have been hard-wired that makes it possible for music to affect us in this way.

The psalmist encourages us to sing praises to God because “God is the King of all the earth;” Personally, I can’t think of a better reason to sing.

About Dented-Knight

Peter Enns (aka - The Dented Knight) is a native of rural southern Manitoba, Canada. He is an ordained minister, the proprietor of LNE Web Services, father of four, grandfather of two, and life long husband of one. 
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

