What God Desires…

 

Read Psalm 50

Focus on verses 14-15

 

There was a time in my life when my impression of what God desired of me would have included a lengthy list of activities, which He expected me not to participate in, and another lengthy list of activities that He did expect me to participate in. The general rule seemed to be: avoid the bad stuff and do the good stuff. What was not always clear to me was where the dividing line between the forbidden activities and the encouraged activities actually was located. I have since discovered that God is not the legalist that I had imagined Him to be. My relationship with Him is not dependent upon my ability to keep His rules. If that were the case I would have no hope of making the grade.

What I discovered is the truth expressed by the psalmist in today’s reading. God is not as interested in my outward actions as he is in my inner motivation. It is not that God no longer wants me to make sacrifices to Him…it is that the sacrifice He desires most is not a material one but a relational one. God knows that if He captures my heart, He will have my actions as a bonus, but if all He is getting from me is religious rituals, it is like the bulls and goats that psalmist mentions in v. 9 and 13. The sacrifice God desires from me is a sacrifice of thanksgiving that is motivated out of a heart of love and devotion to Him.

About Dented-Knight

Peter Enns (aka - The Dented Knight) is a native of rural southern Manitoba, Canada. He is an ordained minister, the proprietor of LNE Web Services, father of four, grandfather of two, and life long husband of one. 
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What God Desires…

Leave a Reply

