Too Good to be True

Read Psalm 67

Focus on verse

 

There is a certain feeling – I would not say it is a good feeling – that follows when someone whom you have not treated well does something nice for you. It is the feeling that accompanies an undeserved blessing and it is compounded when you realize there is nothing that can possibly undo what you have done to offend the person, nor is there any way you can fully return the favor that has been offered. It is a feeling of indebtedness, perhaps a feeling of remorse, but nearly always overshadowed by a feeling of gratitude.

When I think of my relationship with God there I often get a little choked up because it is exactly this combination of feelings that grabs me by the emotions. I am overwhelmed by the love and grace He shows me despite the frequency with which I offend Him. I do try to be obedient, I do try to consistently demonstrate my devotion to Him, but between those “trys” are numerous fails, which are bought and paid for by the blood of Jesus Christ. Yes, all that bad stuff we have done? All the good stuff we failed to do… it’s already paid for. This leaves the door open for God to bless us as if we had never done anything wrong. This is quite possibly the one an only deal that sounds too good to be true, but actually is true.

About Dented-Knight

Peter Enns (aka - The Dented Knight) is a native of rural southern Manitoba, Canada. He is an ordained minister, the proprietor of LNE Web Services, father of four, grandfather of two, and life long husband of one. 
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Too Good to be True

  1. dishatto says:

    I think this is the most beautiful post I’ve read of yours! Very nicely written. Great reminder of just how gracious God is to us. Thank you for writing this.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

