In the Morning…

Read Psalm 88

Focus on verse

My wife used to have a shirt with the phrase printed on it; “I don’t do mornings!” In those days our children were young and she worked evenings. She has always been a “night owl” type of person until recently. Since the boys have all grown up, she has taken a full-time job, which she looks forward to each day, but it is a day job that requires her to be up before sunrise at times. I noticed that after a year of this she has been waking up earlier even on her days off, and typically is going to sleep well before midnight. It would seem she has made the transition from night owl to early bird.

My own sleeping habits would perhaps be more chameleon like in that I tend to adapt to whatever is going on around me. I can sleep in if I have been up late, or I can get up early if it is necessary. I can enjoy getting up early, especially in summer when the sun rises early and I have time to sit with my cup of coffee on the deck for a while. I have  found that if I sleep too much past 8 AM my day seems to pass too quickly and I feel less productive. That being said, I can also enjoy sleeping in on days when I don’t have all that much to accomplish, but these tend not come around all that often.

What happens to me in the morning tends to set the tone for the rest of the day, so for me it is important to have sufficient time to doddle through my routine and enjoy my coffee before I begin to attack my to do list for the day.

In that regard it would seem the psalmist in todays reading might be on to something when he writes, “…in the morning my prayer comes before you.” (v. 13) What better way to set the tone for the day than to have a short conversation with the One who created the day? He is also the One who reminds us that “This is the day that the Lord has made, let us rejoice and be glad in it!” (Ps 118:4) Whether it turns out to be a good day or not by our own estimation, we do well to rejoice and be glad for He does not owe us anything. Every morning that I get up and realize that I am still alive and healthy is a gift from God to be enjoyed and stewarded as though it is borrowed time. As I get older the reality of this becomes more obvious to me. When I was a child it seemed as though I would live forever, as I pass the half-century point it is becoming more evident that my life is terminal. As I become more aware of the passage of time, the time I have left becomes more precious. It is helpful for me to remember that each morning as I prepare for the day.

About Dented-Knight

A knight with polished, shining, perfect armor is typically one with no battle experience. It is the knight in dented armor that knows what it costs to win.
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

