Trust-worthy…

Read Psalm 93

Focus on verse 5

Trust is an interesting commodity. It is highly valuable, can be costly to earn, and is often broken. Once trust is broken it is very difficult to repair. It is also something that it would be difficult if not impossible to function without. Every day we all place our trust in all sorts of things that we take for granted to be there. When I place my posterior on a kitchen chair in the morning to eat my breakfast I trust that that chair will hold my weight and keep me from landing on the floor. When I get into my car and turn the key in the ignition I trust that the engine will start. Furthermore, when I pull into an intersection after the light turns green, I trust that the drivers approaching the intersection will obey the red light and stop. I trust that when I make a deposit at my bank that the bank will hold enough money in their vault to assure that I can withdraw that money when I plan to spend it. There are many more situations – too many to list – in which we place our trust in things and people, many of them without really thinking about the consequences of that trust being broken.

When something does happen to break our trust it takes some time for that trust return. For example, perhaps I turn the key in the ignition of my car and nothing happens. The trust I have in my car has been broken. Now I going to be late for my appointment (if I make it at all) and I will have to have the car repaired. Even if I have a trustworthy mechanic, it will take a few successful starts for my trust in the car to be renewed.

In today’s reading the psalmist writes, “Your decrees are very trustworthy; holiness befits your house, O Lord, forevermore.” He is reminding us that God is worthy of our trust. God has a history recorded in the Bible, of being true to His word. He is quite possibly the only truly trustworthy being in existence. I do not have to think very far back to find a time when I have broken a trust of some kind. I suspect there is hardly a day that goes by that I do not forget to do at least one thing that I told someone I would do. Fortunately most of the people I circulate among tend to be gracious to forgive these little betrayals, most likely because they realize that they too fail with regularity in being fastidiously trustworthy. Most of these people also trust that God will never fail them or double cross them.

I would be dishonest if I did not admit that there have been times when I have felt like God has failed me. In every one of these situations, I have come to recognize that it was not God who broke His word. Rather, it was that I had placed my expectations of what I wanted Him to do for me upon Him and chosen to believe this was His will when in reality it was mine. One of the keys to trusting God is choosing to allow God to be in charge. The Bible tells us we have been made in His image so perhaps it should not surprise us when we find ourselves experiencing a desire to want to “be” God. Interestingly there is a way for this desire to be fulfilled God’s way. It is in allowing ourselves to be conformed into the image of Jesus Christ. The difference is Jesus (who was also God) did not come to rule and take charge, but to show us how to truly become like God in the way He loved and served us. He did it by laying His life down for us. As we allow the Holy Spirit to make us more like Jesus as we submit to the Spirit’s control, we realize that it is in laying our lives down for the people around us that we truly become like God. Interestingly, the more we become like Him, the more we also become worthy of trust.

About Dented-Knight

Peter Enns (aka - The Dented Knight) is a native of rural southern Manitoba, Canada. He is an ordained minister, the proprietor of LNE Web Services, father of four, grandfather of two, and life long husband of one. 
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

