Tell the Story

Read Psalm 105

Focus on verses 1-2

Most people love to hear stories. Some people like to tell stories. It actually works out rather well when several of those who like to hear stories gather around one who likes to tell them.

There was a time in human history when very few people know how to read or write and when verbal stories were the primary way that history was preserved. The old men and women would tell the stories they heard from their parents to their children who would pass them on to the next generation. This may not have been the most accurate way to record history, but I have a hunch it was at least as effective as the history classes I slept through in high school. Fortunately there were people in those days that were more interested in preserving history than I was when I was in high school.

In Psalm 105 the writer begins by encouraging the reader to tell the story; “make known his deeds among the peoples!” (v. 1) And “tell of all his wondrous works!” (v. 2)

There is an old hymn that I memorized years ago which I still enjoy hearing that reminds me of this truth;

  1. I love to tell the story of unseen things above,

of Jesus and his glory, of Jesus and his love.

I love to tell the story, because I know ’tis true;

it satisfies my longings as nothing else can do.

Refrain:

I love to tell the story, ’twill be my theme in glory,

to tell the old, old story of Jesus and his love.

 I have told this story many times to many people. If you are interested in reading it in it’s original form, look up the gospel of Matthew in the New Testament of the Bible and read through to the end of the Gospel of John. Then read the entire Bible from beginning to end, and you will have read the entire story. You cannot read the entire story and not come away from it changed in some way. I have read it many times, and it continues to change me every time I read it over.

About Dented-Knight

A knight with polished, shining, perfect armor is typically one with no battle experience. It is the knight in dented armor that knows what it costs to win.
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

