Who Dun it?

Read Psalm 109

Focus on verse 27

A well-written mystery novel always leaves one wondering, “Who dun it” right to the very end when the truth is finally revealed. I particularly enjoy it when the end is a surprise, then when all the details are fully explained it finally all makes sense.

In todays reading David is expressing his desire that the Lord not only avenge those who seek to do him harm, but that He also reveal to them that it is the Lord who has done it.

I suspect that most of us have been in such a position. We feel we are being wronged and would like to see the Lord set things right. We have a desire to be justified in our vindication, and we want those who oppose us to know we were right and they were wrong. As I think about the times I have felt this way I cannot help but feel a twinge of guilt as the Lord reminds me that as wrong as they might be – He loves them too. Wouldn’t it be better if the Lord could win them over rather than strike them down? What if He would like to use me as an instrument in that process? Would I be willing to allow God to use me to win over the people who are seeking to harm me? It would seem to me to be a very “Jesus like” thing to do wouldn’t it?

So I suppose it might still be good for us to all come to the realization that the One who “dun it”, or perhaps more accurately “is doing it” is God. It would seem to me, however, that what we would like most to be done is for all to come to know that Christ is Lord so that none would have to experience the terrible reality of eternal and total separation from God. As always, the choice is ours. We are the ones who choose whether or not we will spend eternity with or without God, so in that regard it would seem “we dun it”.

About Dented-Knight

A knight with polished, shining, perfect armor is typically one with no battle experience. It is the knight in dented armor that knows what it costs to win.
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

