Today is the Day!

Read Psalm 118

Focus on verse 24

None of us can change the past and neither can we predict the future, but all of us live in the present. I recall as a child spending a lot of time thinking about the future, dreaming about what it would be like to be older…to me married…to have a family…where I would live etc. Now that I am north of fifty I find myself more inclined to think and dream about the past. It makes me wonder why we find it most difficult to stay focused on the only thing we can actually have an influence on… the present?

In today’s psalm the writer states, “This is the day that the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be gland in it.” (v. 24) I do not know that I understand why it is that we seem to spend the first half of our life wishing we were in the future and the last half wishing we could return to the past, however I can relate to the struggle, and every now and again I have been catch a glimpse of what it is to live fully in the present.

I believe that one of the keys to this might be found in a statement Jesus made to His followers in the Gospel of John 10:10 “The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have life and have it abundantly.” The only way I know of to experience each day to its fullest degree is to experience it in the context of my relationship to Jesus Christ. In that context we can experience the presence of God within us in the person of the Holy Spirit who empowers us to be able to fulfill everything that God intends for us to fulfill each day. Jesus also made the statement “So do not worry about tomorrow; for tomorrow will care for itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matt. 6:34). It is only as we walk “in the Spirit of God, that we can experience everything that God has prepared in advance for us to be and do. Anything short of that leaves us either hoping things get better in the future, or wishing we could return to the past. Either way, it robs us of the present.

Today is the day the Lord has made, why not just be glad and rejoice because we have today! There is no certainty that we will have tomorrow, and we cannot revisit yesterday. Today is the day! This moment is what we have. My desire is to choose to be all there and make the most of it.

About Dented-Knight

A knight with polished, shining, perfect armor is typically one with no battle experience. It is the knight in dented armor that knows what it costs to win.
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

