Peace in Jerusalem…

Read Psalm 122

Focus on verse 6-7

I have not ever been on a Holy Land tour, nor have I visited Jerusalem. I hope to yet have that opportunity at some point. What I have had opportunity to do however is to frequently pray for peace for Jerusalem and for Israel, and that the Lord would protect the people of Israel from the hostility of those in the region who desire to do them harm. The reason I pray for Israel is at least in part because of the words of today’s reading:

Pray for the peace of Jerusalem!                                                                                                  May they be secure who love you!                                                                                                          Peace be within your walls                                                                                                             And security within your towers!  (Psalm 122:6 -7)

There are various theological and political opinions in regard to the support of Israel as a nation in the world today. I find it interesting to observe what appears to be a shift in the political arena. There was a day not that long ago when Israel was considered our most faithful ally in the Middle East. While Israel continues to be interested in maintaining that relationship, the current political administration of the USA seem to have done some things that have seriously strained this relationship. Certainly not the least of these has been a nuclear deal with Iran that would give Iran a clear path to nuclear arms. This is of grave concern to the Israelis who stand to be the nearest target of those nuclear warheads should that scenario come to pass.

While all this is certainly of concern to me, it does not really surprise me since biblical prophecy seems to indicate that a time will come when practically the entire world will turn on Israel in an effort to destroy the Jewish people, however, they will not succeed because God will miraculously intervene to save Israel and Jerusalem by destroying the armies that have been amassed to wipe them out.

Exactly how that will play out, I am not certain. Whether it will involve nuclear missiles or bombs is not clearly spelled out. What is clear is that when that occurs it is the beginning of the end, and some will be ready and many will not.

Perhaps the most critical question then is “am I ready?” How does one prepare for the end of the world? While it may not be harmful to stash away a little extra food and water, by far the most critical consideration is the question; “Am I ready to stand before God?” – do I know Him? Have I humbled myself, repented of my rebellion against God, and submitted myself to the Lordship of Jesus Christ? If I have not, it doesn’t matter how much food and water I stash away for the end of time…it won’t be enough. Because I have a relationship with Christ I can’t lose because He promises to never leave or forsake me. If I die, I win because I spend eternity with Him. If I live, I live for Him and find fulfillment in faithfully serving Him. It really is a win, win situation. The alternative is to find myself fighting a war I cannot win against God Himself. And the same is true for you, and as always… the choice is ours to make.

About Dented-Knight

A knight with polished, shining, perfect armor is typically one with no battle experience. It is the knight in dented armor that knows what it costs to win.
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

