Destiny

Read Psalm 138

Focus on verse 8

Do you believe that our actions from day to day as we live out our lives on this planet, as insignificant as they may seem, actually make a substantial difference in regard to how the future will unfold? If this is true, is it possible to live one’s entire life and not fulfill the destiny for which one was born? If we genuinely have the freedom to choose how we will behave, it would seem to follow that we could possibly derail God’s plan for humanity. If we can’t act contrary to the destiny God has laid out for us to fulfill, do we really have the freedom to choose? It would seem impossible to have it both ways, yet I am reminded that with God all things are possible.

In today’s reading the psalmist pretty much directly states “The Lord will fulfill his purpose for me.” (v. 8) This could be interpreted to indicate that I have no choice but to do what He has destined me to do. Though I don’t entirely understand it, I do believe that because God is God He can have it both ways. He can know what my destiny is without limiting my ability to make choices as I fulfill it. Again, I am not certain I understand it completely, but I suspect it has something to do with the fact that God is not limited to linear time and space as I am so while I have to live my life out moment by moment, He sees my whole life all at one time. Its not like I know how that works cause I am still on this side of eternity where I’m locked into time and space. I suspect that when the time that He has destined for me to be here expires and I step through the veil into His presence, it will all make sense rather quickly.

Interestingly, I suspect the term “quickly” will most likely be meaningless there because it is a reference to time. Admittedly, all of this is conjecture on my part based on what little understanding I have of an infinite God so everything beyond what I understand is taken in faith that Go has it figured out with our best interests in mind. For the moment then, I choose to live with the dissonance of not clearly comprehending all that I believe to be true of God. In that regard I seem to be in good company, as I believe it was the Apostle Paul who compared it to looking in a foggy mirror until such a time as we see God face to face. (1 Cor. 13:12) Ultimately perhaps it comes down to trusting God with my destiny, both now and for eternity. As I think about that I realize it takes a great load off my shoulders, not that I am not responsible for my actions, but that I can trust God who already sees the end of my life – to guide me through it.

About Dented-Knight

A knight with polished, shining, perfect armor is typically one with no battle experience. It is the knight in dented armor that knows what it costs to win.
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

