No Hiding

Read Psalm 139

Focus on verse 3

One of my favorite games to play as I was growing up was hide and seek. We used to play it when my cousins would come to visit, and it was even more interesting if we played after dark. The way we played the game was that one person would be designated the seeker. Then the rest of us would scatter to find hiding places while the seeker would close their eyes and count to one hundred. At reaching one hundred the seeker would shout, “Ready or not here I come!” as they began to hunt for the hiders. The seeker would rarely stray far from the “Home Free” location, which most often was the power pole with the streetlight in the center of the yard, in order to be able to tag the hiders as they attempted to sneak back to touch the power pole to make it “home” without being tagged. The first one to not make it home before being tagged would be the seeker in the next round.

As I think about playing hide and seek as a child I realize there are ways in which many of us have never really stopped with the hiding part. Sometimes we are not even aware of the things from which we are hiding. One of the most common and most dangerous things we choose to hide from is the truth. The reason it is dangerous to hide from the truth is that when we hide from the truth – we live in deception. Fortunately for us the truth always has a way of finding its way to the light. When we choose to hide from the truth we choose to deceive primarily ourselves. The longer we hide from the truth about ourselves the more devastating it is to us (and often those close to us) when the truth becomes apparent.

In Psalm 139 we read; “You (God) search out my path and my lying down and are acquainted with all my ways.” (v. 3). While we may be able to hide some things from ourselves, and the people around us, we hide nothing from God. He sees every act and hears every thought. The thing that is most amazing to me in regard to this is that God still loves me despite all that He knows about me! Despite my disobedience, and my self-deception, he still loves me! This is the knowledge that I find “too wonderful to attain” (v. 6). This is the knowledge that breaks through my facade of deception and causes me to bear my soul to Him and repent and confess and throw myself upon His mercy…not just once, but time after time!

I am so grateful that I cannot escape His love! This is the nature and character of God. That He would pursue us even when we are attempting to hide from Him. That He would love us when we are in our most unlovable condition. That He would extend His grace to us through the atoning sacrifice of Jesus Christ, and offer us the gift of eternal life with Him to restore us to Himself. This is the God we have been trying to hide from.

About Dented-Knight

A knight with polished, shining, perfect armor is typically one with no battle experience. It is the knight in dented armor that knows what it costs to win.
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

