Direction

Read Psalm 143

Focus on verse 8

Few things are as frightening to me as the feeling of being lost. The most recent time I had the opportunity to feel the adrenalin boost that typically accompanies the realization that I don’t have a clue where I am was on a lonely rural road somewhere in Iowa. I had driven out to an event that my son was involved in that was to take place in a very small rural community. While it would have been impossible to get lost within this little community, I was very thankful for the GPS feature of my smartphone once I got about two miles out of town where every corn field looks familiar. I am usually pretty good about directions, but I rather suspect that if I had not had the help of the GPS I may well still be somewhere in Iowa, trying to find my way home.

Life can sometimes feel this way as well. All it takes is an unexpected illness, the loss of employment, or a failed relationship to knock us off course to where we are find ourselves in unfamiliar territory without a map or GPS to guide us. Some people spend a considerable portion of their lives rambling about without any direction. While most of us experience an unexpected detour occasionally, some find their way back on course more quickly than others.

David had some detours in his life as well, and though he did not have a GPS in the desert, what he did have served to keep him on course for the most part. He describes this in today’s reading, “Let me hear in the morning of your steadfast love, for in you I trust. Make me know the way I should go, for to you I lift up my soul.” (v. 8). It would seem that David found his direction when he meditated on the Lord each day. I suppose one could say that the Lord was David’s GPS that guided him through the days of his life. Near as I can tell the Lord has not changed and is still available to those who seek Him to provide the guidance we need to find our way through the tricky minefields of life we often find ourselves in.

About Dented-Knight

Peter Enns (aka - The Dented Knight) is a native of rural southern Manitoba, Canada. He is an ordained minister, the proprietor of LNE Web Services, father of four, grandfather of two, and life long husband of one. 
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

