Stop Digging!

Read Proverbs 10

Focus on verse 19

One of my father-in-law’s favorite sayings was “If I want to get out of that hole yer’ in I suggest you stop digging.” The first time I heard him use it was in a situation where I had talked my way into a corner, and the more I said the worse it sounded. This principle goes right along with the idea that most often it is better to keep silent and let people think you are a fool than to risk speaking and thereby remove all doubt.

King Solomon was apparently internationally known for his exceptional wisdom, and his writings that we find here in the book of Proverbs certainly seem to support that concept. In today’s reading it speaks much of wisdom and how one uses words. In verse 19 Solomon writes, “When words are many, transgression is not lacking, but whoever restrains his lips is prudent.” I have found that have often been times when I have said too much, and that the more I say, the greater the possibility of saying something that would have been better left unsaid. I suspect that for most of us if we verbalize about half or less of what we think we would like to say it might be about the right amount. Interestingly in my experience it is typically the people that say very little that would gladly hear more from, and the people that are constantly talking that I quickly tire of hearing. It helps me to remember this when it is my turn to speak. It is always better to leave people wishing that you had said a little more than wondering if you’ve come down with a bad case of verbal diarrhea. The prudent person restrains his or her lips. Good advice from a very wise king.

About Dented-Knight

A knight with polished, shining, perfect armor is typically one with no battle experience. It is the knight in dented armor that knows what it costs to win.
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

