Best Laid Plans…

Read Proverbs 19

Focus on verse 21

I have way more plans in my head then I will ever have time to complete in my life. I suspect that I am not alone in this. There are many plans that I have made that I’ve had to abandon, and it’s probably a good thing I did because as I look back on them, some of them were manifestly terrible plans. I suspect that there were also some plans that were good ones, but as of yet they have not come to pass because I have either not have the resources or the motivation to bring them about.

In today’s reading the writer of the Proverbs writes, “Many are the plans in the mind of a man, but it is the purpose of the Lord that will stand.” (v. 21) As I contemplate this it occurs to me that perhaps it is not merely my lack of motivation or resources that prevents these plans from coming to pass. I am thinking that it may well be that these plans simply do not fit the Lord’s purpose at this time, and that this is why He has not yet brought them about. I am not so naïve as to think that every plan that comes to my mind is from the Lord. I suspect however, that at least a few of the ideas and plans that my mind has entertained were put there Him, and that those that he has ordained will come to pass in his time. Those that he has not ordained may or may not come to pass depending upon my willingness to hear and obey. If I insist on pursuing my own will, I will not only be wasting precious time, but may miss the blessing of fulfilling that which He has prepared in advance for me to do. I do not believe this to be an issue of salvation. At best it is an issue of obedience, at worst it could be an issue of rebellion, either way I miss out on something the Lord would have willingly given to me had I chosen to accept it. I do not believe that my disobedience in anyway prevents the Lord from carrying out his will, He simply gives me the option to choose to either join Him or miss out on the blessing of being involved with Him as He brings about His plan for humanity.

About Dented-Knight

Peter Enns (aka - The Dented Knight) is a native of rural southern Manitoba, Canada. He is an ordained minister, the proprietor of LNE Web Services, father of four, grandfather of two, and life long husband of one. 
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

