Where your heart is…

Read Proverbs 21

Focus on verse 17

If someone were to ask you what one thing you consider most important how would you answer? Your answer to that question is a good indication of where your heart is. Our life is full of choices. Many of these choices have relatively insignificant consequences. It makes little difference what color of shirt I choose to wear when I get dressed in the morning. On the other hand when I made the choice to ask my wife to marry me, this was a choice that has significantly affected the last thirty-one years of not just my life, but hers as well. While the choice ask someone to spend the rest of their life with you is a significant one, there is a choice that has even more significant ramifications.

The verse I have focused on in today’s reading reads: “Whoever loves pleasure will be a poor man; he who loves wine and oil will not be rich.” Solomon knew what it was to have every conceivable pleasure available to enjoy and pursue; yet he cautions those who seek fulfillment in these. He elaborates in much more detail on this in the book of Ecclesiastes, which we will encounter when we have completed the book of Proverbs.

The point that comes home to me in todays devotional is that these are empty pursuits. We make choices each day that determine what it is we will pursue that day. If we choose to pursue things like pleasure, or the accumulation of wealth day after day, we will arrive at the end of our life only to realize we have been chasing after the wind. If you heart is set on anything other than the pursuit of God, it will not matter what you accumulate, achieve or experience in your lifetime…it will not satisfy the longing for fulfillment that each of us has within us. It is true that it is that longing that drives us to seek fulfillment, but there is only one place where that fulfillment can be found. It was Jesus who said, “where your treasure is – there your heart will be also.” (Matt 6:21)

It’s really quite logical. That which we treasure most – is that which we pursue. If we pursue what does not fulfill, it is like attempting to grasp the wind in our hand. Ironically it is the intangible concept of God rather than the tangible material things around us that brings us to the point of peace and contentment in knowing that our heart is in the right place. I believe there is no place as secure as when I can sincerely understand that if I have Jesus Christ, I have everything I need to be content and fulfilled. When I can approach my life this way, I can honestly view anything that God chooses to bless me with in addition to that as a bonus. Currently…I would have to admit I have more bonuses than I can count! That makes me an abundantly blessed person in my opinon!

About Dented-Knight

A knight with polished, shining, perfect armor is typically one with no battle experience. It is the knight in dented armor that knows what it costs to win.
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

