Blinded

Read Proverbs 28

Focus on verse 5

Does a person who is born blind really understand they are blind? If I had never ever experienced what it is to see, would blindness not seem normal to me? Or is it perhaps like the person who cannot see the forest because there are too many trees in the way? Similarly today’s proverb points out that “evil men do not understand justice, but those who seek the Lord understand it completely.” (v. 5) As I contemplate the truth of this observation, it occurs to me that it is possible that most of us do not perceive ourselves as evil, yet to some extent all of us are. There is not one who has walked this earth outside of Jesus Christ who has not been tainted by evil, however, we only become aware of this when we begin to seek the Lord, and we only understand the extent of it when we are found by Him.

I would be the first to admit that prior to knowing Jesus, I was fairly arrogantly ignorant of my own sin. As long as I measured my righteousness in comparison with people more evil than myself, I looked pretty good to myself. Then I met Jesus. When I compared myself to Jesus righteousness I understood that I was falling well short of what God’s justice required. I also realized that Jesus righteousness was sufficient not only for Him, but also for me if I was willing to trust Him with my life. I discovered at that point that this proverb is true. We really do not understand God’s justice until we understand what Jesus has done for us. Those who refuse to believe that Jesus sacrifice covers their sin do not really understand justice at all, yet are blind to their ignorance. They are described by Jesus in Matthew 13:13-15 as people whose hearts have grown dull, He explains to his disciples that seeing they do not see, and hearing they do not hear, nor do they understand, thus fulfilling the prophecy of Isaiah 6.

So it is that those who harden their heart become like those who cannot see the forest because there are too many trees in the way. It seems ridiculous to those who understand that it is the exactly these trees that form the forest. Only the Lord can open our hearts so that our eyes begin to see and understand. Only the Lord can give us the understanding of what justice really looks like. This understanding makes me all the more grateful that He reached out to touch my heart and opened my eyes many years ago. If the Lord has never touched your heart this way, my prayer is that perhaps this is the moment You see it for the first time.

About Dented-Knight

A knight with polished, shining, perfect armor is typically one with no battle experience. It is the knight in dented armor that knows what it costs to win.
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

