Seeking…

Read Song of Solomon 3

Focus on verse 2

Few things cause the adrenaline to form a knot in my stomach like the realization that I may have lost something very important. A few weeks ago I attended a board meeting in a rented facility. As I typically do, I brought my computer attaché along in case I would need access to information that I had stored on my laptop. As it turned out I did not need anything from my computer so it sat by my feet under the table until the meeting was over. After the meeting I picked up my tablet and my phone off the table and went home. It was not until the next morning that I realized that I had left my computer in the meeting room. I immediately began to imagine the nightmare it would be if it happened to fall into the hands of someone who knew how to access all my identification information, bank accounts, and medical data that was stored on that laptop. You can imagine my relief when I found the text on my phone informing me that that a fellow board member had noticed my attaché and had picked it up and would be able to return it to me unmolested.

This chapter of the Song of Solomon describes a dream that the bride has of waking at night and not knowing where here husband is…it describes her seeking first in the bedroom and other parts of the house, then in the streets and the squares of the city until she finds him. And when she does find him it says she “held him, and would not let him go until she had brought him into the her mother’s house.” A figurative description of bringing him into the most intimate fellowship, keeping him “close to her heart” might be a fitting description.

This again fits with both the relationship of a husband and wife as well as that of Christ and those who follow Him.

While the scriptures assure us that Christ will never leave us or forsake us, there are times when we feel as though we have disconnected with Him. This is not because He has forsaken us, but rather because we have drifted away from Him. Whatever the cause may be, the realization that we no longer feel the connection can elicit that familiar “knot in the stomach” kind of anxiety feeling of having lost something. Perhaps it would be better compared to the feeling that arises when we realize that we have inadvertently hurt someone we love. The right response is to seek the person out and attempt to make amends for the offense.

This description of the bride seeking her lover is also a fitting description of the urgency with which we ought to pursue Christ, as well as the tenacity and intimacy with which we ought to cling to Him when we find him. In my experience, I have found that little can shake my faith when I am in this kind of relational proximity to Jesus. The times that things become problematic are when I wake up and realize that I have allowed Him to slip out of sight. While it is tempting at these times to sit back an wait for Him to return, I’m not certain that this is the best response, not because I’m afraid He won’t return to me, but rather as I am not certain what kind of trouble I might get myself into when I sense He is distant.

About Dented-Knight

Peter Enns (aka - The Dented Knight) is a native of rural southern Manitoba, Canada. He is an ordained minister, the proprietor of LNE Web Services, father of four, grandfather of two, and life long husband of one. 
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

