Perspective…

Read Isaiah 6

Focus on verse 5

Perspective can make a huge difference in the way we see things. I remember standing on the viewing deck of the Waimea Canyon a few years ago noticing that I was actually looking down on birds and airplanes. Apparently we were fortunate to have such a view as the highest point of the canyon is often shrouded in clouds, which make it impossible to see the bottom.

The perspective from up there can be somewhat dizzying, so after taking a few pictures, I was content to head back to the car and begin our descent back to sea level.

Life is not unlike this in the way perspective affects the way we formulate opinions about our experiences. Two people can go to the same restaurant and have drastically different experiences simply because they interpret the experience through differing perspectives. It may not even be a case of one being right while the other is wrong. It may simply be two very different sets of filters through which the event is being processed. Either way it is the same event, and either way the perspectives can vary according to the knowledge and experience of the beholder.

When Isaiah describes his vision of the Lord, he gains a new perspective of the holiness and majesty of the Lord, and he is undone. His response is “Woe is me! For I am lost; for I am a man of unclean lips, and I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips; for my eyes have seen the King, the Lord of hosts!” (v. 5)

When Isaiah catches a glimpse of the majesty and holiness of God, he becomes painfully aware of his inferiority and dependence in comparison to the power and majesty of God. His perspective gets an adjustment as he sees himself from a new vantage point.
We typically spend a fair amount of time comparing ourselves to each other. I personally tend to feel better about myself when I am able to compare myself to someone who is less “righteous” than I am – at least in my opinion. On the other hand I am also humbled when I find myself compared to a person who is obviously more righteous than I am. Neither of these comparisons are all that helpful in terms of helping me see who I really am.

The one way to get an accurate assessment of who I really am is to catch a glimpse of the holiness and majesty of God as Isaiah did. This is the only way to get an accurate and honest assessment of who we really are on the inside. I suspect that we will find that the outside stuff, which we compare to other people matters very little in God’s grand scheme of things.

About Dented-Knight

A knight with polished, shining, perfect armor is typically one with no battle experience. It is the knight in dented armor that knows what it costs to win.
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

