Turn on the Light!

Read Isaiah 49

Focus on verse 6

I often stay up later than everyone else in my house when I am writing these posts. One night not so long ago, in my effort to be careful not to wake up anyone else in the house as I was finding my way to my bed, I was making my way through the dark house as I often do choosing not to turn on any of the lights as I entered the bedroom. I typically can navigate the dark fairly well by feeling my way along walls as I have the layout of the house fairly well memorized. I also take care to move slowly and carefully so that I don’t stub my toes or bump into anything noisily. On this occasion, I was doing well as usual until I nearly stepped on the dog that had apparently got tired of waiting for me and laid down beside bed as she usually does after I go to sleep. I had to make a quick adjustment with my feet in order not to step right on her, causing me to step with all my weight on the buckle of my belt that I had left laying on the floor. As I twisted in an awkward sort of dance move to try to get my weight off the belt buckle, the dog, who was now trying to get out of the way of my foot moved into the way of my other foot very effectively tripping me. At this point I’m no longer as concerned with being quiet, but more concerned with preserving my life, as I scramble to keep from falling headfirst into the crevice between the headboard and the night table. Just as I regain my balance thinking I may have avoided waking anyone, I hear my wife say – “what is going on? Why don’t you just turn on a light?”

“I didn’t want to wake you.” I whisper back apologetically.

“It didn’t work.” She replies blandly, as she turns on her light and pulls out her book to read herself back to sleep.

Since that event, she now leaves the hall light on when she goes to bed, evidently to prevent me from injuring myself, as well as in the interest of staying asleep herself.

In todays reading, the Lord speaks through Isaiah, of Israel being a “light to the nations,” that would reach the ends of the earth. (v. 6)

As I think on this, there is a similarity between the church in America today and my stumbling through my dark house in order to avoid waking anyone up. It would seem to me that it might be time to turn on the Light. Our nation doesn’t need more darkness. We need to be shining the light that resides within us more boldly, yet not in a way that offends. It is possible to be needlessly offensive with the light of Christ. If you have ever had someone walk up to you in the dark and shine a bright flashlight in your face, you understand how annoying it can be to be offended by the light. On the other hand, if I am walking in the dark, and someone comes along side and shines a light on the path where I am walking it is something I can highly appreciate.

Perhaps if we were to spend less time directing the light of God into the eyes of unbelievers and more time illuminating the path that we are travelling together, we may find that we meet less resistance and more success.

About Dented-Knight

Peter Enns (aka - The Dented Knight) is a native of rural southern Manitoba, Canada. He is an ordained minister, the proprietor of LNE Web Services, father of four, grandfather of two, and life long husband of one. 
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

