It’s a New Day!

Read Lamentations 3

Focus on verse 22-23

I have not always been a morning person, mostly because I have lacked the discipline to go to bed early. I have always enjoyed those mornings when I am able to get up early enough to watch the sun rise, particularly when the weather is such that I can enjoy the sunrise with a fresh cup of coffee on the lanai outside in the fresh morning air. It is especially delightful on a clear sunny morning with a few songbirds present to coax the first rays of light over the horizon with their singing.

It is a glorious reminder to me that God’s love and mercy towards me is renewed each day, not in the sense that they expire the day before, but that they never expire – ever! In today’s reading in Lamentations we get a little breath of hope in the midst of the lamenting; “The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.” (v. 22-23)

Regardless of how dark it may seem to be at night, of this we can be certain…morning is coming, and with it, a new day…a fresh start…another opportunity to experience the awe and wonder of life, and death, and everything in between. “’The Lord is my portion,’ says my soul, ‘therefore I will hope in him.’” (v. 24) If my hope is in anything else – I can be certain that I will be disappointed in time. If my hope is in God, and in His love and mercy toward me – I can rest assured that my future is secure regardless of what the new day might bring.

About Dented-Knight

Peter Enns (aka - The Dented Knight) is a native of rural southern Manitoba, Canada. He is an ordained minister, the proprietor of LNE Web Services, father of four, grandfather of two, and life long husband of one. 
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

