Loyalty…

Read Ezekiel 16loyalty_dog

Focus on verse 59-60

Few things are more toxic to a relationship than disloyalty. Most relationships can handle a fair amount of straight up conflict, but disloyalty strikes at the root of what holds a relationship together. That being said, there are two kinds of disloyalty; it is one thing to do something disloyal inadvertently without intending it to be disloyal. It is quite another when it is a plotted, intentionally deceptive scheme that one enters into knowing that it is disloyal. Regrettably, I must admit that I have been party to both kinds in the past, yet despite this history, I consider myself to be a loyal person, because I have also attempted to make amends with those whom I have either inadvertently or maliciously betrayed.

In today’s reading God is describing in vivid detail the ways in which His people had betrayed Him by willfully abandoning their loyalty to Him. What may have begun as inadvertent disloyalty to God had apparently become blatantly malicious and there appeared to be no sign of the trend slowing down. God’s response is severe, yet not without hope.

For thus says the Lord God: I will deal with you as you have done, you who have despised the oath in breaking the covenant, yet I will remember my covenant with you in the days of your youth, and I will establish for you an everlasting covenant. (v. 59-60)

The coming judgment will be severe, but God has not forgotten the covenant He made with Abraham, and He intends to keep it. This is the wonderful part about our relationship with God – His faithfulness to us is not dependent upon our faithfulness to Him. This is what sets the Christian faith apart from every other belief system. Most world religions teach that it depends upon us to build a bridge to God by reaching up to Him. Christianity teaches that God, in His love and mercy toward us, reached down to us when He appeared in the flesh – in the person of Jesus Christ – making it possible for us to know Him despite our inability to keep our end of the covenant. It is for this reason that despite the fact that I know I have been disloyal in my betrayal of God, I know that because of what Jesus did for me, God sees me as faithful. It is also for this reason that I can honestly consider myself a loyal person; not because of anything I’ve done – but because my sense of loyalty has been restored to me by Christ.

About Dented-Knight

A knight with polished, shining, perfect armor is typically one with no battle experience. It is the knight in dented armor that knows what it costs to win.
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

