Crystal Clear…

Read Ezekiel 39IMG_0259

Focus on verse 7

I have had the opportunity to make long trips by car on more than a few occasions in the past, and by long, I mean from Florida to Canada, or from Nova Scotia to Manitoba. These are trips that require upwards of thirty hours of driving time plus stops. I also prefer to travel in summer, but have traveled through snow and ice when necessary, and the thing I have noticed is that on any given trip, there are times when the weather is great and the roads are clear, and there are times when the highway is crowded and the weather is not so great making it necessary to slow down or on occasion to just stop and wait it out. When it is all clear I find traveling enjoyable, when it is not – I just want to get to my destination.

Our spiritual journey likewise has moments of clarity and smooth sailing, and times when it feels like we are attempting to navigate through a prairie blizzard. In today’s reading the Lord declares to Ezekiel that there is a time coming when He will make this all crystal clear for His people.

And my holy name I will make known in the midst of my people Israel, and I will not let my holy name be profaned anymore. And the nations shall know that I am the Lord, the Holy One in Israel. (v. 7)

I have wondered at times why God just doesn’t always make everything crystal clear for people. It would seem to me that this would eliminate so many of the problems we encounter in our lives. As I contemplate this a little further, I realize that it is entirely possible that God has made many things very clear for us, but our issue is that we choose not to see it. It has, to some extent, to do with His commitment to giving us the freedom of choice. If we did not have the freedom to choose to go our own way and flounder about in the fog, it would also not be possible for us to choose to walk in the clarity of obedience.

God’s love for us is clearly described in the scriptures as well as in the general revelation He reveals around us. His desire is to know that we choose to love Him in return.

There is a day coming, according to this reading, when God will reveal Himself in a manner that it will be impossible for us not to know that He is the Lord, the Holy One of Israel and the sovereign God of all humanity. Until that time, we do well to walk by faith – particularly when it starts to get a little foggy. If we need to slow down or stop and wait – I expect that would be preferable to ending up in a spiritual wreck. We already got plenty of that going on around us, the last thing I need is to add to the carnage.

I have been fortunate that in all the driving I have done the Lord has always seen fit to give me just enough vision to avoid serious injury. I believe He has shown me similar mercy in my spiritual journey. It is not that I have never found myself in a fog, but He has always found me in the midst of it and given me just enough faith and vision to find my way through it. For that I am grateful.

About Dented-Knight

A knight with polished, shining, perfect armor is typically one with no battle experience. It is the knight in dented armor that knows what it costs to win.
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

