Reboot…

Read Ezekiel 44reboot

Focus on verse 5

Technology has come a long way in the last few years, bringing with it many improvements to the speed and reliability of computer operating systems. The one thing that seems to remain consistent, however, is the need to regularly reboot the system. Apparently operating systems have a tendency to “shred” over time. I am not a computer hardware expert, so I don’t know exactly what that means, but I do know what the result is from the perspective of a user. It means that the computer begins to run more sluggishly, and if one waits long enough certain programs crash or get glitchy. When the system is rebooted it resets these fragmenting strings of code and clears out the random access memory giving the operating system a fresh start.

In today’s reading the Lord shows Ezekiel what it will look like when He reboots the operating system of the nation of Israel. He does this by reviewing the laws He initially gave to Moses when the tabernacle was first built. The same laws that He had reiterated to Solomon when the first Temple was constructed. Now He reissues these laws to Ezekiel to record and pass on to the remnant, which would eventually return and rebuild the Temple and the city. There was to be a fresh start, and it would be important to get it all right.

As I reflect on this I am grateful for the times in my life when the Lord has rebooted my operating system. The first time was when I first choose to trust Jesus as my Savior. This was somewhat similar to installing anti virus software. The SIN virus is particularly persistent, but the Jesus anti-virus software cleans it out of all the files flawlessly and regularly. Then there was another reboot of sorts when I realized I needed to give Him the reins of my life and made Him my Lord. This required rewriting a some of the code so that the GOD server controlled the system, instead of the local CPU. There have been a few times since then when I occasionally have over write that code by attempting to run my life my way, and each time He has been patient and gracious when I have realized my error and the system locked up, He would graciously debug my system and reboot it once again.

I had thought that as I matured I would gradually need to have Him do a reboot with less frequency, until it occurred to me that my computer runs the smoothest when I set it up to regularly reboot automatically in order to prevent malfunction rather than to wait until it crashes at which point it may become necessary to reboot to an earlier restore point causing data to be lost. So the best solution seems to be for me to keep short accounts with God, restarting the system more often, so that a full-scale hard boot is rarely needed.

Back in the days before computers we used to say it this way – “An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure.”

About Dented-Knight

A knight with polished, shining, perfect armor is typically one with no battle experience. It is the knight in dented armor that knows what it costs to win.
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

