Security…

Read Zephaniah 2security-guard

Focus on verse 15

I am usually quite careful to lock the doors of my house at night. It makes me feel more secure. I’m not certain why it makes me feel more secure, because if someone really wanted to break in the locked door would only slow him or her down a little. I suppose I could invest in a security system, or hire a security guard if I was really serious about it.

In Zephaniah chapter 2 the prophet writes,

This is the exultant city that lived securely, that said in her heart, “I am, and there is no one else.” What a desolation she has become, a lair for wild beasts! Everyone who passes by her hisses and shakes his fist. (v. 15)

The city of Nineveh was a proud city. It was also a violent and evil city, whose inhabitants believed they were secure. They had the notion that their city was the best of the best. They rated their city as the #1 place to live in the Middle East. What they did not know was that in a short span of time there would be nothing left of the city. It would become a wild and desolate place where wild beasts roamed. They had a false sense of security, which ultimately led to their demise.

When it comes to having a true sense of security, there is only one place that I am aware of that can provide a person with lasting and meaningful security. It is not found in a security company or a high tech system of cameras and locks. It is found in a relationship with the creator of the universe who watches over us at all times.

securityI do not recommend leaving doors unlocked or tempting fate by not taking sensible precautions regarding the security of my family and my home, however, I also recognize that the best security system I can have is trusting that God is watching over me. It also helps to remember that all of this stuff I call my own really belongs to Him, so technically He is actually watching over His own stuff, and since He is much better at watching over it than I am, it only makes sense for me to trust Him with that responsibility.

Interestingly this does not make me impervious to any and all threats. What it does do is assure me that if a burglar a some point were to successfully “burgle” my home, I can rest in the knowledge that God has not stopped watching, and that whatever occurs is not outside of His control. My security, after all, is in Him not my home or my stuff.

About Dented-Knight

Peter Enns (aka - The Dented Knight) is a native of rural southern Manitoba, Canada. He is an ordained minister, the proprietor of LNE Web Services, father of four, grandfather of two, and life long husband of one. 
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

