Be True to Yourself…

1d5937cf-a098-4761-b8cf-f5ff1fca2878-5882-0000131acfb498fd_tmpRead 1 Corinthians 7
Focus on verse 17

I remember as a teenager how I would look at some of my peers and wish I was more like them. Throughout junior high and most of high school I was physically the stereotypical ninety-eight pound weakling – so skinny that I had to run around in the shower to get wet. All that running was very tiring wearing the snow shoes that kept me from sliding down the drain. All that to establish that I was a wee bit jealous when I would watch some of my peers bench press twice my body weight with their buffed up biceps that were thicker than my legs.
It probably took until I was in my thirties for me to become truly comfortable in my own skin. I remember quite clearly the day I realized that it I no longer feared what other people thought or said about me. While there is much to be gained by seeking to improve one’s self, there is also something to be said for accepting who we are and choosing to be content with what and who we are.
In today’s reading Paul writes about learning to be content with who you are in the context of the benefits and challenges of married life verses remaining unmarried.

Only let each person lead the life that the Lord has assigned to him, and to which God has called him. This is my rule in all the churches. (v. 17)

The Apostle Paul never married, and it was undoubtedly best for him to remain single since he likely would have made a terrible husband even by his own definition. He recognizes however, that the single life is not for everyone, and that for some, marriage was the right choice. His point being – “don’t try to be something or someone you are not.” The happiest, most fulfilled people are those who accept how God created them and choose to make the most of what they have been given as they pursue that which God has called them to.
I suppose one could say if you are a square peg, you will be happiest in a square hole. If you are a round peg – you will only frustrate yourself by trying to be square. In other words…be true to yourself and the person God made you to be.

About Dented-Knight

Peter Enns (aka - The Dented Knight) is a native of rural southern Manitoba, Canada. He is an ordained minister, the proprietor of LNE Web Services, father of four, grandfather of two, and life long husband of one. 
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

