Love is Better…

Read 1 Corinthians 8love
Focus on verse 2-3

When I was a child – I thought my dad was the smartest and strongest person in the world. When I got to be around sixteen or seventeen I still loved and respected my parents but it seemed to me that I had not only caught up but surpassed them on the smartness scale. (You know what they say about sixteen year olds…we ought to elect one as president while he or she still knows everything!)
Interestingly, as I got into my twenties and thirties my parents wisdom seemed to grow exponentially. Somewhere around middle age is where it occurred to me that the more I learned, the more I realized how much more there was I still did not know – the end result being the older and wiser I get the stupider I feel.
In today’s reading the Apostle says it this way;

If anyone imagines that he knows something, he does not yet know as he ought to know. But if anyone loves God, he is known by God. (v. 2-3)

In other words, loving and being known and loved by God tops any amount of knowledge about the world around us. Knowledge is useful, but without the love of God it just puffs us up – essentially turning us into arrogant old fools. On the other hand, knowledge along with the love of God, helps us understand our place in the universe and makes us truly wise.

About Dented-Knight

Peter Enns (aka - The Dented Knight) is a native of rural southern Manitoba, Canada. He is an ordained minister, the proprietor of LNE Web Services, father of four, grandfather of two, and life long husband of one. 
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Love is Better…

  1. Naftali chirchir says:

    Socrates was considered the most wise man in the universe because when he was asked what he knew he replied that I k now nothing. True, the wiser you became the less you think of yourself so.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

