Unfinished Business…

Read Philippians 1
Focus on verse 648bc3446-a9af-42f1-8bcb-e5fb59980b14-792-000001014ac8cea4_tmp

Unfinished Business…

Franz P. Schubert is considered by some to be the last composer of the classical era, and one of the first of the romantic composers. Schubert’s 8th symphony is often called the “Unfinished Symphony” since he only completed two movements. Schubert was not the only one of the great composers to leave music unfinished at his death, however, his 8th symphony is undoubtedly the best known of the unfinished works of that era.
I suspect that relatively few if any people come to the end of their life with the confidence that they have finished everything they ever started. Most of us have at some point begun at least one project, which have eventually convinced us that it is “unfinishable”.
In today’s reading Paul assures us that there is at least one project which we can count on to be completed. This project is the work that God has begun in us when we chose to trust Jesus Christ for our eternal destiny.

And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ.(v. 6)

While I find this promise reassuring, I rather suspect it is one that we are required to accept by faith since the project appears not to be complete until the end of our physical life. This means that as long as we are physically alive, apparently God is still working on us. This also means that as long as we are alive, we may feel a slight sense of incompleteness.
We used to sing a little chorus in Sunday School years ago, the first line of words is all I remember. “He’s still workin’ on me, to make me all HE wants me to be”. I would have to admit that this continues to be true of me, in fact, I suspect one of the most obvious signs of trouble in my relationship with God would be if I ever came to the conclusion that I had arrived and didn’t need any further revision in my life.

About Dented-Knight

Peter Enns (aka - The Dented Knight) is a native of rural southern Manitoba, Canada. He is an ordained minister, the proprietor of LNE Web Services, father of four, grandfather of two, and life long husband of one. 
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

