I wanna be like that…

Read Philippians 4
Focus on verse 5-74283fcbf-3acb-4e9c-aa83-601ad85b613f-1564-000003db31e85274_tmp

Every once in a while I meet a person who makes me think to myself, “when I grow up – I want to be life that!” It is typically a person who somehow manages to remain calm when everyone else is stressed, one who is not easily caught up by the mob, but stands up to it, causing those who observe to act more rationally as well. It is not necessarily one who is hugely popular, or even well known.
In today’s reading Paul describes how to be such a person. I seems it has to do with letting go of anxiety, giving thanks, and committing our worries to prayer rather than to fret over them.

Let your reasonableness be known to everyone. The Lord is at hand; do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. (v. 5-7)

It would seem that the secret to being such a person is perhaps simpler than I thought. While it may take some discipline to remind myself to refrain from allowing the stress of life to become a source of stress, it is the peace of God, by the power of the Holy Spirit and the authority of Christ that will guard my mind and heart…if I choose to allow Him to.

About Dented-Knight

A knight with polished, shining, perfect armor is typically one with no battle experience. It is the knight in dented armor that knows what it costs to win.
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

