Transferred…

Read Colossians 1
Focus on verse 13-14e0501b25-8f94-4aa2-8f53-caacb5d046fc-1924-000004dce5aee41a_tmp

Being transferred can be a wonderful thing or an awful ordeal depending upon what we are talking about. When I was growing up on the farm we would send animals to the market to be sold on a truck my father called a “transfer”. That was the first exposure to the word that I recall. When I was in college I met students who had military parents who described how they would move every time their military parent was transferred.
In today’s reading Paul describes how those who trust in Jesus Christ have been transferred from the domain of darkness to the kingdom of God.

He has delivered us from the domain of darkness and transferred us to the kingdom of his beloved Son, in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins.(v. 13-14)

Being transferred is not the same as choosing to move from one place to another. When our family chose to leave the beautiful, but often freezing, state of Minnesota to move to the warm and sunny state of Florida, we arranged for our belongings to be moved, but we ourselves came by choice at a time of our choosing. Our belongings – which included our dog – really didn’t have much say in the matter. They were “transferred”.
The transfer that takes place from the domain of darkness to the kingdom of God’s light is a similar process. While it is our choice to place our trust in Jesus, the transformation that follows is all God’s doing, we simply come along for the ride. One might compare it to making the choice to get on a commercial airline. I make the choice to buy a ticket, which indicates that I have put my trust in the airline to get me to a certain destination. I make the choice to board the plane, but once I am on the plane…I have nothing to do with the transfer that takes place. I leave that to the pilot and the mechanics who serviced the plane.
Choosing to trust Jesus Christ for eternal life is similar. I make the choice to believe in Him, I make the choice to obey His word, and from there I have essentially committed myself to go wherever He takes me, trusting that my final destination will be what most people call heaven. What we do not control is the actual transfer. This is where we trust that God will get it all right and deliver on His promise to get us there, just as we trust the pilot and the aircraft when we board a plane to complete the transfer safely

About Dented-Knight

Peter Enns (aka - The Dented Knight) is a native of rural southern Manitoba, Canada. He is an ordained minister, the proprietor of LNE Web Services, father of four, grandfather of two, and life long husband of one. 
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

