Pay Attention!

Read Hebrews 2 59D36DF9-625A-4A8D-A776-C5A90180A4B6-5150-00000E200B5B1C79
Focus on verse 1

I have an old friend I used to meet for breakfast quite regularly who used to joke about being so poor he could not afford to pay attention. In that regard we had something in common, since I suspect that if I had been born to or three decades later I would likely have been diagnosed with attention deficient disorder and spent my childhood in a Redalin induced stupor instead of driving my parents and teachers to the edge of insanity with my hyper-activity. As an adult I still catch myself chasing rabbit trails more often than I like to admit, but it’s exhausting now, and I find myself wondering where all that hyperactive energy went.
Needless to say, paying attention for long periods of time is not one of my strengths. I have learned however, that I can get a fair bit accomplished if I break big jobs up into short episodes of concentration. In today’s reading the writer to the Hebrews encourages his readers to pay closer attention to what they have heard.

Therefore we must pay much closer attention to what we have heard, lest we drift away from it.(v. 1)

This is the other down side of attention deficit. I can hear someone tell me something, and having clearly understood, I can turn around, walk a few steps – see something interesting and forget everything I just heard. If I really want to remember something, I have to either write it down, or memorize it, or if it’s really serious – both.
When it comes to matters of spirituality and obedience, it is most often by the discipline of frequent repetition that I am able to remember. Even at that, there have been times when I have drifted. Another thing that sometimes interferes with our paying attention to God’s instruction is that I suspect there are times when we just choose not to listen because we do not like what we are hearing. It is because by nature we are rebels! It is only by the grace of God and the power of the Holy Spirit that this rebellious nature can begin to be overpowered and eradicated, and it is a painful process because it involved dying to self, allowing that old nature to be crucified with Christ so that we can be raised again to the new life that we live in Christ.
So pay attention! It takes a certain amount of discipline to listen to what God has to say, and perhaps even more to act in obedience upon it once we understand what it is He has said.

About Dented-Knight

A knight with polished, shining, perfect armor is typically one with no battle experience. It is the knight in dented armor that knows what it costs to win.
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

