How do we measure up?

Read Revelation 11
Focus on verse 1-2Measuring_Tape

I remember as a young child playing with my mother’s tape measure that she used for sewing. It was a worn and faded thirty -six inch strip of canvas about three quarters of an inch in width, with ruler markings and numbers on it. I would use it to pretend to measure things…and when I thought mom wasn’t looking to tie up my little sister…which as I think about it may have contributed to it looking so worn and faded.
Measurement is one of the many things we often take for granted. It is something we often do without even thinking. It occurs in everyday tasks from builders or surgeons who use precision instruments to measure things to the hundredth of an inch, to me picking the right size of sandwich bag for the sub I make for my lunch.
In today’s reading John describes how in his vision he is told to measure the temple of God – and not just the temple but the altar, and even the people who worship in the temple.

Then I was given a measuring rod like a staff, and I was told, “Rise and measure the temple of God and the altar and those who worship there, but do not measure the court outside the temple; leave that out, for it is given over to the nations, and they will trample the holy city for forty-two months. (v. 1-2)

I have not personally research the symbolic significant of this action, but I am certain that it has significance to the events that are being described. To me the significance of this is the idea that God is interested in measuring His church, and that His greater interest is not in the physical structures we build, but in the state of the hearts of those who claim allegiance to Him.
On a more personal level it reminded me that the state of my heart and soul is always visible to God, and that despite what He often sees there, He continues to love me and pursue my devotion. It also reminds me that there is a day coming when the final measurement will be taken and the factor that will determine my eternal standing with Him is not what I have or have not done FOR Him – but what I have done WITH Him. The most defining final measurement will be the question – “How have we responded to God’s offer of redemption and forgiveness through Jesus Christ?”

About Dented-Knight

Peter Enns (aka - The Dented Knight) is a native of rural southern Manitoba, Canada. He is an ordained minister, the proprietor of LNE Web Services, father of four, grandfather of two, and life long husband of one. 
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

