Dreams and Visions…

Read Genesis 37
Focus on verse 5, and 9-10AD3D25AC-96F0-4421-BB9A-89ECA13657F2-2199-000006C1522B507B

Dreams are often strange things. Most often I suspect that what I dream about is related either to something I have been stressing over, or to something I ate. While I often recall that I had a dream when I wake up in the morning, I rarely am able to coherently describe what is is I dreamt about. I find it highly frustrating because my dreams typically seem to make sense while I am dreaming them, but when I hear myself attempt to describe what I dreamt while I am awake, I typically feel like a blathering moron because it doesn’t make any sense whatsoever!
I do believe that there are times when God speaks to people through dreams and visions. Both the Old and New Testaments of the Bible record such accounts. I also believe, however, that it is rarely wise to share those dreams and visions with others, and certainly not indiscriminately.

Now Joseph had a dream, and when he told it to his brothers they hated him even more. (v. 5)


Then he dreamed another dream and told it to his brothers and said, “Behold, I have dreamed another dream. Behold, the sun, the moon, and eleven stars were bowing down to me.” But when he told it to his father and to his brothers, his father rebuked him and said to him, “What is this dream that you have dreamed? Shall I and your mother and your brothers indeed come to bow ourselves to the ground before you?”(v. 9-10)

For Joseph, sharing his dreams did nothing to improve the relationship he had with his already dysfunctional family, and though this seems to be poor judgment on his part, God used the hatred of his brothers toward him to position him in the land of Egypt where God set him in a place of authority and used him to save a multitude of people including his own family from starvation. His seemly far-fetched dreams prove to be one hundred percent accurate as his entire family does eventually bow before him when they accept his invitation to come live in Egypt during a particularly harsh and lengthy famine in the land.
As I consider the times in scripture when God communicates through dreams, it seems it is most often to inform or warn someone of some future event. If God has done this in the past, I suspect there are times when God still does this currently. I also might add that it would might be wise to measure any dream of this nature carefully in light of the words of scripture – if it seems to be consistent – it is possible that it is a message from the Lord, and the validity of the message can only be confirmed if and when it comes to pass. On the other hand, if the dream in any way contradicts scripture, I can be fairly confident it has stronger ties to the salami and jalapeño cracker I ate for night snack than it does to a message from God.

About Dented-Knight

A knight with polished, shining, perfect armor is typically one with no battle experience. It is the knight in dented armor that knows what it costs to win.
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

