Dream On…

Read Genesis 43
Focus on verse 26AD3D25AC-96F0-4421-BB9A-89ECA13657F2-2199-000006C1522B507B

When I was in elementary school, I remember at least one time when my teacher had written in my report card to my parents, “…he tends to day-dream a lot.” Somehow I don’t think it was meant as a compliment at the time, but rather a way of saying “he doesn’t seem to be able to pay attention”. In retrospect I am thinking there may have been two contributing factors to this tendency. It is entirely likely that unbeknown to anyone at the time (myself included) I was nearly deaf in one ear, so I likely had trouble hearing the teacher. My hearing loss was only discovered when I was in high school. Secondly, if I had entered elementary school twenty years later than I did, I likely would have been diagnosed with attention deficit disorder and put on a drug to control it. As it was, I was just a dreamer. In some ways, I am still a dreamer. I like to dream of how things could be if…?? …Some of those dreams have come to pass, some likely never will.
When Joseph shared his dreams of the sheaves and the stars bowing before him, his brothers had ridiculed and hated him for it, choosing to believe it was the meaningless dream of an egotistical favored son. Little did they know that the day would come when the dream would be fulfilled, and though at this point in the story they do not yet know it, they all now bow, unaware that they are bowing to their brother – the dreamer.

When Joseph came home, they brought into the house to him the present that they had with them and bowed down to him to the ground. And he inquired about their welfare and said, “Is your father well, the old man of whom you spoke? Is he still alive?” They said, “Your servant our father is well; he is still alive.” And they bowed their heads and prostrated themselves. (v. 26-28)

While it is advisable to be careful about where and when one shares their dreams, one must also not forget that some dreams are meant to come to pass. The ones that tend to be fulfilled are the ones we don’t give up on. The text does not reveal what went on in the mind of Joseph when he sat for years in an Egyptian prison, but I wonder if perhaps it was during those times that he remembered the dreams of the sheaves bowing down to him, and the sun and the moon and eleven stars bowing to his star. God gave him those dreams to assure him of his destiny. What dream has God given you?

About Dented-Knight

Peter Enns (aka - The Dented Knight) is a native of rural southern Manitoba, Canada. He is an ordained minister, the proprietor of LNE Web Services, father of four, grandfather of two, and life long husband of one. 
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dream On…

  1. Diane Shatto says:

    Same with me- my teachers said I didn’t pay attention but I just heard babbling sounds not words. Even when they tested me for hearing like they do every year in grade school they thought I was playing around and didn’t diagnose it as a hearing problem. When really what I was doing in the hearing test was ‘guessing’ since I didn’t want to get it wrong and was scared not to raise my hand when I knew becauseof the pattern that she played s sound but I didn’t hear it. It was convoluted! Sadly teachers weren’t very astute and just said, ‘kids aren’t paying attention’ or ‘they are playing around’.

    Haven’t heard from you in awhile. Haven’t had a chance to follow all your posts. Hope all is well in your new job as a pastor (though I know it’s not new anymore).
    I have good news. My husband and I have been accepted in our denomination to enter into ministry training, so we will be doing that in August.

    Mtake care and God bless you.

    Like

  2. Glad to hear from you again. Exciting to hear of your ministry venture. I am actually currently not in church ministry (other that volunteer at the church we attend) I am a part time chaplain which I enjoy, and in my spare time I have a small web design business that I am in the process of launching. If your interested in seeing my business website you can find it at http://www.lnewebservices.com.

    Like

Leave a Reply

