God Knew…

Read Exodus 2
Focus on verse 25F01A79BA-6D64-4932-A69F-3E5AC0627CF1-7466-0000177A3D6F8C04.jpeg

Every once in a while I get impressions about things…more often it is about people. I just get a feeling – and it can be a complete stranger or someone I know well – but it is like I can feel the weight they are carrying emotionally. I don’t always know the details, but I feel the pain. I’m not always sure what to do with it…mostly I just pray for them, sometimes I will try to give a word of encouragement if I can do it without being too awkward.
In today’s reading it say’s God “heard the cries of the children of Israel” – He felt their suffering under the whips of the Egyptians. I cannot imagine what it must be like for God – who knows and sees everything – to be aware of all the pain, all the suffering that is going on in the world…all the time! Makes me glad I only feel a little now and then. At any rate the text tells us that,

God saw the people of Israel – and God knew.(v. 25)

What did God know? He heard the cries of the people of Israel – He remembered his covenant with Abraham – And He knew that it was time to bring them out.
It is interesting to me that God, who is not bound by or limited in any way by time or space, seems to be rather meticulous about the timing of events as they unfold in the time-bound world we live in. Now was the time for Israel to be delivered from Egyptian slavery. When they finally reach Canaan the scripture says “the iniquity of the Canaanites was full” so their time had come. Everything that God does in this world He does “in His time” yet He Himself is not bound to it. Actually, I am not certain I know exactly how that works. Here is the weird part… I don’t have to be able to understand for it to be true, it does however require that I trust in the goodness and sovereignty of God.

About Dented-Knight

Peter Enns (aka - The Dented Knight) is a native of rural southern Manitoba, Canada. He is an ordained minister, the proprietor of LNE Web Services, father of four, grandfather of two, and life long husband of one. 
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

