Security…

Read Exodus 14
Focus on verse 13-14IMG_1728

The president of the United States has constant security protection. The men and women that protect the first family are typically the best of the best, yet despite the best possible human protection, there have been times in our history when that has not been good enough. When my children were young, I was their first line of human security, but I quickly realized I could not possibly protect them from every possible danger.
In today’s reading God demonstrates to Israel in a very tangible way that He would be their security and protection.

And Moses said to the people, “Fear not, stand firm, and see the salvation of the Lord, which he will work for you today. For the Egyptians whom you see today, you shall never see again. The Lord will fight for you, and you have only to be silent.” (v. 13-14)

“The Lord will fight for you, and you have only to be silent.” The number of times I have messed this up by trying to be “the hero” is more than I care to remember. The amazing results that come to pass in those rare occasions when I have, by His grace, been given the ability to stand by and let God be the warrior are incredible.
I recall to this day where I was standing on the driveway of our home watching our boys play on the skateboard ramp I had just completed for them, feeling overwhelmed at my inability to protect them. It was there on the driveway where for the first of many times I said to God, “Lord, I’m going to need your help if these little guys are going to survive to adulthood. There are too many things in this world that I can’t control – but I know You can, so help me to do my part, and give me the faith to let you do yours.” I am grateful to report that at this point it would appear that He has honored that request as all four are now healthy, happy surprisingly well-adjusted adults.
It is interesting to me that God seems to create opportunities like this for us to trust Him. He brought Israel to a place where they had minimal options. It was go through the sea or die under Pharaoh’s chariots… or at least that is what it seemed to them, so they chose the sea option. One can only speculate as to whether they would have entered the Red Sea to pass through it if they had not been pursued. One of the significant points the Lord seems to emphasize through the destruction of Pharaoh’s army is that “the Egyptians shall know that I am the Lord”. The other result God was looking for was that Israel would believe the He was the Lord, and that they would respect the leadership of Moses. This event appears to have achieved both – at least for the moment

About Dented-Knight

A knight with polished, shining, perfect armor is typically one with no battle experience. It is the knight in dented armor that knows what it costs to win.
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

